When You See It In The Movies

Last week we spent five days learning about what to do in an emergency situation, then we headed to Festival City Mall to spend our night off in the cinemas, watching a film based on an emergency ditching. True commitment right there. In ‘none aviation’ terminology ditching means to land an aircraft in water (it’s all brand new to me). Moving on, ‘Sully’ is a film based on true events about a pilot working for US Airways, who made the decision to ditch an aircraft into the Hudson River, in New York. I don’t know if I found it so much more interesting because I’m learning about aviation, or if it genuinely is an incredible film? Nevertheless I really enjoyed it and to think that it actually happened, and everyone involved survived, amazes me (this isn’t a spoiler, but common knowledge). I can easily be convinced into watching, or reading anything based on a true story.

Spending the night at the cinemas made me feel right at home, it’s one of my favourite things to do on my days off. Afterwards we took a taxi to the Irish Village for a well deserved bottle of wine. Nothing too crazy, constantly reminding ourselves we’re in the middle of SEP and to keep our eye on the ball. Unfortunately there’s been a couple of members of cabin crew who are in training and have failed exams, this has resulted in being moved back a batch to re-sit them. It must be so difficult knowing you’re not going to start flying with all your new friends, the people you started this journey with. But knowing this has really pushed me into trying my best and putting in extra hours of hard work. I don’t want to get left behind.

There’s a three hour time difference here from the UK and it’s starting to take its toll. It doesn’t sound like much but through the week I have to go to bed so early and at this point my friends and family are busy and it’s just an inconvenient time. If it’s like this now, it worries me how difficult it will be when I start flying. But I think it’s important to make an extra effort to keep in touch with people from home, no matter how difficult time zones make it. Eventually these are the people you return to.

When I got home I had the longest chat with my mum, it was so nice to talk about normal things and hear how everyone at home is getting on. Right now, I don’t know when I’ll next be able to go home. So for now it’s just telephone calls and the phenomenal world of social media which makes it ever so easy to stay in touch.  

Nicola x

IMG_1883.JPG

Leave a Reply

