Sailing Through My Saturday

At the moment the weekends are my saviour. Something to distract myself from work and to  gain some sanity in between. Don’t get me wrong, I’m enjoying myself, but there’s days which test my strength and ability which gets me feeling homesick.

Going out with friends here is so different to what I’m used to back home. A group of people can come from all over the world rather than just one tiny city in the North of England. I miss my friends so much but the conversations are completely unique once you take away the element of common ground. It’s fascinating what you can learn from what can be considered a throw away conversation.

IMG_2698.JPG

IMG_2526.JPG

I come from a really small city in England where there’s very few people who undertake opportunities like this so before moving to Dubai I didn’t know anyone. This didn’t scare me because I figured everyone would be in the same position, but recently I’ve been feeling as though it would be nice to hang out with familiar faces. Luckily for me a friend of my Dad’s introduced me to a friend of his  while he was over here on holiday. I was delighted to hear she owns her own salon called Essential Beauty in the Jumeirah area because my nails were in desperate need of some TLC. The lady also happened to have a 26 year old daughter who has lived in Dubai for the majority of her life and suggested we should go out some time.

This weekend I took her up on her offer and I was able to spend some time talking about regular stuff other than aircrafts and cabin crew. I’m not going to lie, it was nice to have a break. After some lunch and a laze on the beach we went to her apartment to get ready for some drinks. I was completely taken back when I walked in the door to see a sphinx cat. It was like she had applied hair removal cream to the little creature and I was kind of stunned. But to my surprise this cat behaved like a dog, he was insanely friendly and constantly looked at me in understanding with what I was doing, it was bizarre. It was lovely to be around animals though, I really miss my dogs. There’s something homely about being in the presence of pets and although I thought I didn’t really like cats, this little guy has proven me wrong. I even googled ‘places in Dubai you can play with puppies’ afterwards. No luck yet but when I find somewhere I’ll let you know.

IMG_2467.JPG

IMG_2472.JPG

This weekend only got better. I’ve grown up regularly hearing the phrase “it’s not what you know, it’s who you know” and it’s so true. A Brazilian friend of mine who has spent the last 8 years living and working in Vegas introduced me to a friend of his. To put it bluntly this guy had money to burn… Anyway he invited a group of us to hang out on a boat on Saturday afternoon, swim in the ocean and watch the sun go down, so obviously I accepted and had the best day.

IMG_2552.JPG

Later that evening he took us to diner and we ate like royalty. Money isn’t coming in thick and fast at the moment and life before Dubai was spent waiting for student loans and working a part-time job. So as you can imagine I was more than grateful to accept some 5 star hospitality.

IMG_2559.JPG

TOP TIP if you’re thinking of following in my footsteps, I’d highly recommend bringing out some savings, the first few months aren’t easy on the cash front, especially if you’re like me and like to shop and go out at the weekends.

Nicola x

Leave a Reply

