Making The Most Of Male

Finally, after spending New Year’s Day in London, with one of my best friends, I get to take ten days leave. Six of which I will spend in the beautiful Maldives. It had been four months since I had any real time off, so I was super excited to spend some quality time with my family.

The luxury break in paradise was in aid of my Mum turning 50. We stayed in Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa which was about a 25 minute boat ride from Male airport. The island was pure bliss and beyond anywhere I’ve ever been to before.

IMG_3826.JPG

Due to work commitments I arrived a few days late into the holiday and missed the New Year’s celebrations. However, I heard it was a beautiful ways to see the New Year in. The resort accommodated a huge percentage of couples, especially those on their honey moon or celebrating an anniversary. So if I was going to comment on anything, it would be that perhaps it’s not the most suitable resort for families or groups of friends. Nevertheless, we didn’t care and had an incredible time, just the five of us, enjoying each other’s company.

IMG_3784.jpg

All inclusive holidays can sometimes be a disappointment, especially if someone is a fussy eater or perhaps the food lacks in quality. It’s difficult to grit your teeth and bare it when you’ve paid for a whole holidays worth of food, and then you’re left somewhat disappointed. However, I can honestly say there was a vast choice in cuisine which varied daily. The resort was small but still acquired three different restaurants and a buffet which served breakfast, lunch and dinner. Although, I will admit if you were staying for any longer than a week, I can imagine eating in each restaurant 2 or 3 times could become tedious. I think the destination itself would become tedious after much more than a week but it depends what type of holiday goer you are.

IMG_3925-1.JPG

This restaurant in particular was my ultimate favourite on the island. It’s called Al Khaimah and serves Middle Eastern cuisine. I would personally recommend the lamb chops which both me and my Dad adored.

Every evening when we returned to our rooms which were situated in the water, almost like little garden sheds floating above the coral and sea creatures, our mini bars were stocked up, ready to take advantage of again. Each night we felt like we were going into our own little house after a long day of soaking up the sun. We enjoyed a few drinks then headed back out to enjoy dinner and more drinks in an informal, carefree environment.

IMG_3703.JPG

During the day there was plenty to do from going to the gym or taking advantage of the spa facilities and enjoying a massage. Each guest also had access to complimentary non-motorised water sports and their own snorkel and goggle set so you could check out the various species of fish and if you’re lucky enough to own a GoPro you can also get some amazing pictures.

IMG_3913.JPG

I’m so lucky I was given the opportunity to visit one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen. I would definitely recommend the Maldives as a holiday destination. I think it would be an incredible place to take some time out and relax perhaps after a tour of India. I think that’s something I would consider for next time as I’m very keen to travel parts of India but I hear it can be tiring.

IMG_3914.JPG

Nicola x

Leave a Reply

